Ha Long Bay named new world wonder of nature

At 2:07 am Vietnamese time today, November 12, the global poll organizers announced the provisional list of the world’s new seven wonders of nature, including, in the alphabet order, the Amazon rainforest in South America, Vietnam’s Ha Long Bay, the Iguazu waterfall of Argentina and Brazil, South Korea’s Jeju Island, Indonesia’s Komodo Island, Puerto Princesca Underground River of the Philippines, and the Table Mountain in South Africa.

The list was made based on the provision results of the voting for 400 wonders from more than 200 countries and territories that ended at 11:11 pm November 11, 2011.

Ha Long Bay, which was recognized by UNESCO as a World Natural Heritage site in 1994, is seated on an area of around 1,553 square meters, including 1,969 islets, most of which are limestone.

The core of the bay has an area of 334 square meters with a high density of 775 islets. The limestone in this bay has gone through 500 million years of formation in different conditions and environments.

The bay, with a coastline of 120 km, is home to 14 endemic floral species and about 60 endemic faunal species.

Source: Ha Long New Wonder of Nature


About Insiderjourneyguidehelpdesk

Local guide manager-Vietnam
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s